Centre College honors faculty and staff at closing dinner

Centre College honored members of its campus community on May 17 at the annual faculty and staff appreciation dinner and awards ceremony.

Audrey Clark, facilities safety coordinator, Monte Hafley, grounds crew member, and Darrell Smith, custodian, received the Horky Service Award, which recognizes outstanding achievement by facilities services employees. The award was created from a bequest by Lorette and John Horky ’32 and has been given annually since 1990.

Clark was praised for the tremendous impact she has made during her two years at Centre. She has helped bring the College into compliance with all regulatory agencies and trains employees in all aspects of required health and safety codes. Hafely was commended for the excellent job he has done leading the mowing crew and his dedication to doing quality work. Smith, who has worked at Centre since 2012, is liked and admired by his peers and students alike, exceeding all expectations of his job.

Sharon Duncan, academic records specialist; Elizabeth Graves, director for corporate and foundation relations; and Megan Noltemeyer, academic fellow, received the Recognition Award. Duncan was described as thoughtful, patient, respectful, and as someone who goes above and beyond to be helpful to students; she has also served as Staff Congress president. In the past year, thanks in large part to Graves efforts, the College has received major grants from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation and the Henry Luce Foundation, among others, and has launched the Lincoln Scholars Program; additionally, she has contributed in many other ways to the good of the College and its students. Noltemeyer was praised for her valuable contributions and leadership on projects including SACSCOC*, designing the campus center, providing logistical support for the Brown Fellows Program, assisting with important administrative searches, making committee assignments, managing convocations and extended orientation, and much more.

Five professors were named Centre Scholars: Jonathan Earle, assistant professor of history; Matthew Pierce, assistant professor of religion; Kari Young, assistant professor of chemistry; Marie Nydam, assistant professor of biology; and Kyle Anderson, assistant professor of Chinese. The Centre Scholar distinction is an endowed award that recognizes excellence in teaching, scholarly work and contributions to the College community.

Steve Asmus, H.W. Stodghill, Jr. and Adele H. Stodghill Professor of Biology and Biochemistry & Molecular Biology; Stephen Dove, assistant professor of history; and Judith Jia, professor of art, received Kirk Awards for excellence in teaching. The Kirk Award, endowed by a 1995 gift from Mike and Joanne Kirk Duncan ’71, has been awarded annually since 1996.

Presidential Awards for Excellence were awarded this year to Matthew Hallock, professor of dramatic arts, and Sarah Lashley, director of the Center for Teaching and Learning and assistant professor of environmental studies. Created in 1999, the award recognizes exceptional leadership and accomplishment and is given only on occasion at the discretion of Centre President John Roush. Hallock and Lashley were chosen for their leadership as co-chairs of the Quality Enhancement Plan (QEP) steering committee.

“Sarah and Matthew had an extraordinary task set before them and courageously mapped a route that followed the SACSCOC plan for developing our QEP,” Roush said. “The work of developing a QEP is exciting, exhilarating and exhausting, and Matthew and Sarah embraced the opportunity to enhance the student experience through Creative Centre, shepherding a three-year project in less than two years.”

The College also honored retiring faculty at the dinner, including Christine Shannon, Margaret V. Haggin Professor of Mathematics and Computer Science, and Ken Keffer, H.W. Stodghill, Jr. and Adele H. Stodghill Professor of French and German.

by Cindy Long
May 20, 2016
*Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges