Centre College honors faculty and staff at closing dinner

Centre College honored members of its campus community on May 16 at the annual faculty and staff appreciation dinner and awards ceremony.

Kayla Perry, custodian; Pam Martino, custodian; and Jessica Conder, custodian leader each received a Horky Service Award, which recognizes outstanding achievement by facilities management employees. The award was created from a bequest by Lorette and John Horky ’32 and has been given annually since 1990.

Kathy Butterfield, academic affairs senior administrative assistant; Mark de Araujo, Norton Center for the Arts technical director; Leigh Cocanaugher, assistant director of the Center for Global Citizenship and Stephen Swan, international student advisor, received the Recognition Award.

Butterfield was described as calm, unflappable, good humored, knowledgeable, positive, professional, skillful, helpful, consistent, friendly and steady. In his more than 30 years of service, de Araujo has divided his time between planning for and implementing Norton Center series performances; instructing design lab techniques to students; overseeing full-time staff, student workers and contractors; collaborating with other theater professionals on and off campus; and engaging in professional development opportunities. Cocanaugher and Swan were called the ying and yang of study abroad.  Retiring director of the Center for Global Citizenship Milton Reigelman said, “As the export/import experts, [they] have not only kept calm and carried on, but through their commitment and dedication to what they do have earned the respect and admiration of students, parents, staff and faculty.”
Five professors were named Centre Scholars: Jennifer Goetz, associate professor of psychology; Nathan Link, associate professor of music; Ravi Radhakrishnan, assistant professor of economics; Ellen Swanson, assistant professor of mathematics; and Brett Werner, assistant professor of environmental studies. The Centre Scholar distinction is an award endowed by David Grissom, life trustee and past chairman of the Centre Board of Trustees, that recognizes excellence in teaching, scholarly work and contributions to the College community.

Stephanie Dew, professor of biology and biochemistry & molecular biology; Dan Manheim, H.W. Stodghill, Jr. and Adele H. Stodghill Professor of English; and John Perry, associate professor of economics, received Kirk Awards for excellence in teaching. The Kirk Award, endowed by a 1995 gift from Mike and Joanne Kirk Duncan ’71, has been awarded annually since 1996.

Presidential Awards for Excellence were awarded this year to Beth Morgan, technical services for Grace Doherty Library, and Jami Powell, library systems specialist. Created in 1999, the award recognizes exceptional leadership and accomplishment and is given only on occasion at the discretion of Centre President John Roush. Morgan and Powell were honored for their 18-months of dedicated work migrating the College’s multi-pronged library system from Innovative Millennium to OCLC Worldshare.

“This year, Beth and Jami moved us forward in remarkable ways by transitioning our 165,556 bibliographic records from one massive dated system to a new, equally massive system with a completely different approach, greater ease of use and lower cost,” Roush said. “Thanks to them, we experienced no downtime and no loss of data, and now all of our library searches are more efficient.”
The College also honored retirements at the dinner, including Beth Glazier, H.W. Stodghill Jr. and Adele H. Stodghill Professor of Religion and associate dean of the college; Tony Haigh, professor of dramatic arts; Tom McCollough, Nelson D. and Mary McDowell Rodes Professor of Religion; Ed Montgomery, professor of chemistry; Phyllis Passariello, W. George Matton Professor of Anthropology; Milton Reigelman, professor of English, director of international programs, and special assistant to the president; Richard Trollinger, vice president for college relations; and Steve Winrich, professor of economics.

2017 Award Recipients

by Cindy Long