Centre College inducted into Kentucky Pro Football Hall of Fame

mcmillin_football_gameCentre College became the first institution to be inducted into the Kentucky Pro Football Hall of Fame in a ceremony held Friday, June 20, at the Brown Theatre in Louisville, Ky.

Centre was selected based on its football success in the early 1900s when it was the first college program in Kentucky to be considered a national power and produce NFL-caliber players. During a span from 1917-1924, Centre went 58-8-2, won a national championship, and sent 14 players to the NFL. Among that group, Bo McMillin, Red Weaver, Red Roberts and Sully Montgomery were specifically named as having met the Hall of Fame’s eligibility requirements.

In each class, the Hall of Fame selects an inductee from the 2000s, 1990s, 1980s, 1970s, and pre-1970. Centre was this year’s pre-1970 selection, while other members of the class include Elvis Dumervil, Mark Clayton, Sherman Lewis, and Larry Seiple. Additionally, Frank Minnifield was this year’s recipient of the Blanton Collier Award for Integrity.

At the ceremony, the Hall also announced its annual All-Commonwealth Team, with Centre athletes Tami Aderoba ’15 (Columbia, Tenn.), Paul Megilligan ’15 (Danville, Ky.), and Ryan McDonald ’15 (Roswell, Ga.) all being recognized on the squad.

by Matt Montavon, Sports Information Director

Read more about Centre’s football history.
View Centre College’s Athletic Hall of Fame.

By |2014-06-26T09:06:40-04:00June 26th, 2014|Athletics, News|