Centre College recognizes four Distinguished Alumni over Homecoming weekend

Over Homecoming 2016 weekend, Oct. 21-23, Centre College recognized four of its alumni for their accomplishments and contributions by naming them Distinguished Alumni during its annual alumni recognition ceremony. The weekend also saw four alumni inducted into Centre’s Athletic Hall of Fame.

Distinguished alumnus Scott Bohannon ’91, CEO of Info-Tech Research Group, earned a bachelor’s degree in public and policy in mathematics from Centre before continuing his education at the University of Virginia, where he received a Master’s degree in economics in 1994, a J.D. of Law in 1995 and a Ph.D. in economics in 1996.

As a Centre student, Bohannon joined the Sigma Alpha Epsilon fraternity, was inducted into Phi Beta Kappa, was a Rhodes Scholar finalist and was chosen to be a John C. Young Scholar. He serves on Centre’s President’s Advisory Council and regularly speaks at career spotlight events held by the College’s Center for Career and Professional Development.

Previously, Bohannon has taught law and economics at the University of Virginia and was a member of the Virginia Bar Association and the District of Columbia Bar Association. He is the former executive director of the Corporate Executive Board.

Social studies teacher Franklin Foster ’73 was also recognized as a distinguished alumnus by Centre. Foster earned a bachelor’s degree in history from the College before going on to receive a Master’s degree in education, an Ed.D. in education administration and a Ph.D. in history, all from the University of Kentucky.

While at Centre, Foster became a member of the Phi Delta Theta fraternity. He served on the College’s Parent Committee in 2001-08. He has formerly served as the credit chairman of the Teachers United Federal Credit Union and as president of the Allen County Education Association. He has been a Scottsville, Ky., City Councilman since 1980.
Foster’s children are Rachel Foster Kirk ’05 and Paul Foster ’08.

Wesley Fugate ’02 was named the Distinguished Young Alumnus of the Year. Fugate, vice president and chief of staff at Randolph College, graduated from Centre with degrees in dramatic arts and economics. He earned a master’s in higher education and administration in institutional advancement at Vanderbilt University’s Peabody College in 2005 and a Ph.D. in philosophy in higher education in 2012, for which his dissertation received the Alice L. Beeman Research Award in Communications and Marketing for Educational Advancement from the Council for the Advancement and Support of Education (CASE) in 2013.

As a Centre student, Fugate was highly involved on campus as a member of the Phi Kappa Tau fraternity, president of Student Congress and a resident assistant. Fugate was honored as a member of Omicron Kappa Delta and was also included in the Who’s Who in American Colleges and Universities list.

Prior to his current position at Randolph College, Fugate served in several roles in the Office of the Governor for the Commonwealth of Kentucky, including as director of the Office of Advancement in 2005 and as deputy chief of staff for planning and education policy in 2006-07.

Fugate was named the Phi Kappa Tau Outstanding Alumnus of the Year for Centre in 2007 and was recognized nationally with a presidential citation for service to the fraternity in 2011.

Beverly Fisher White Yeager ’54 was also recognized as a distinguished alumna. Yeager, who attended Centre from 1950-52, earned an AB in political science and a Master’s degree in the same field, both from Florida State University.

Yeager has been heavily involved in both Florida and national politics for decades. She was appointed by President Ronald Reagan as chairman of the Commission on Presidential Scholars in 1983-86 and was a member of the National Advisory Committee for President Geore H. W. Bush’s 1988 presidential campaign. She was appointed by President Bill Clinton to the Advisory Committee of the Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation in 1996 and 2000.

Yeager previously served as chairman of the board for First Women’s Bank of Florida and as a member of the U.S. Senate’s Women’s Advisory Committee and the National Advisory Board of Congressional Committees. She was appointed by President Reagan to the board of the National Museum Services and currently serves on the board of directors for both the Florida Heart Association and the Tallahassee Fine Arts Council.

by Elizabeth Trollinger
October 27, 2016

By |2018-07-26T19:24:52-04:00October 27th, 2016|Alumni, News|