Centre faculty attend higher education leadership academy

bluegrass_college_presidentsSeveral members of the Centre College faculty recently attended the Bluegrass Higher Education Consortium’s (BHEC) Inaugural Academic Leadership Academy.
academyCo-chaired by Dr. Bonnie Banker, academic dean at Asbury University, and Dr. Sherry Robinson, executive assistant to the Eastern Kentucky University (EKU) provost, the Academic Leadership Academy aims to build future academic leaders among younger, mid-level faculty in several of central Kentucky’s institutions of higher learning.
The Academic Leadership Academy is a president-led initiative, having been chartered by the 12 presidents represented in the BHEC who share the goal of designing professional development and leadership development opportunities for administration, faculty and staff.
“The 12 college and university presidents (pictured above)—President Roush among them—saw a real need for their faculty and staff to think about where higher education is going in the next 10 years and how we can best serve our students over that time. These presidents (and everyone involved in running the academy) have shown foresight in training faculty to face new challenges to education that are coming down the road,” says Dr. Christopher Paskewich, assistant professor of politics and international studies at Centre, who attended the academy earlier this year.
The academy consisted of two full-day sessions on February 14 at Georgetown College and on May 16 at EKU. Attendees worked in groups to develop papers, posters and presentations on topics ranging from experiential learning and technology to finance and budgeting. The key objective behind the curriculum was to expand understanding of the environment in which institutional decisions are made in the 21st century.
The BHEC hopes that the academy encourages younger faculty to consider paths in leadership careers and provide guidance in the development of the skills required for such careers. Ultimately, the academy looks to provide the skills to ensure a sound and successful future for those institutions its attendees work for.
Centre faculty in attendance included Associate Professor of French Allison Connoly; Associate Professor of Psychology and Behavioral Neuroscience Brian Cusato; Assistant Professor of Chemistry January Haile; Assistant Professor of Politics Benjamin Knoll; Assistant Professor of Politics and International Studies Christopher Paskewich; Assistant Professor of Mathematics Lesley Wiglesworth and Associate Professor of German Ian Wilson (included in group photo above, right).
Faculty members from other schools also participated, including EKU, Georgetown College, Transylvania University, Asbury University, Bluegrass Community and Technical College, Sullivan College, University of Kentucky and Morehead State University.
Completed works from the class are posted on bluegrasstomorrow.org, under the Bluegrass Higher Education Consortium tab.
by John Ross Wyatt

By |2014-06-09T13:54:07-04:00June 9th, 2014|News|