Centre faculty, staff and retirees honored at closing dinner

Centre College employees were in the spotlight at the College’s annual faculty and staff appreciation dinner and awards ceremony on Tuesday, May 17.
The Kirk Award for excellence in teaching, endowed by a 1995 gift from Mike and Joanne Kirk Duncan ’71, has been awarded annually since 1996. This year’s recipients are Lee Jefferson, visiting assistant professor of religion; Patrick Kagan-Moore, Charles T. Hazelrigg Professor of Dramatic Arts; Jason Neiser, assistant professor of physics; and Peggy Richey, professor of biology and biochemistry and molecular biology.
The Horky Service Award went to Robert Lamb, HVAC mechanic, and Debbie Stubblefield, custodial leader. Created from a bequest by Lorette and John Horky ’32, the Horky Award recognizes outstanding achievement by facilities services employees and has been given annually since 1990.
Recipients of the Recognition Award, which honors non-physical plant staff, were Sue Kirkpatrick, technology support coordinator; Kathy Miles, director of counseling at Parsons Student Health Center; and Meredith Sizemore, payroll and benefits coordinator.
Five professors were named Centre Scholars: Steve Asmus, Elizabeth Molloy Dowling Associate Professor of Biology and Biochemistry and Molecular Biology; Genny Ballard, assistant professor of Spanish; Allison Connolly, assistant professor of French; Jeff Heath, assistant professor of mathematics; and Marie Petkus, assistant professor of economics. Being named a Centre Scholar is an honor that recognizes excellence in teaching, scholarly work, and contributions to the college community. They are rotated among Centre’s full-time faculty on a biennial basis.
The 2011 Presidential Award for Excellence was awarded to Kerri Howard. Created in 1999, the award recognizes exceptional leadership and accomplishment and is given only on occassion at the discretion of the Centre president. A 2008 Centre graduate, Howard has served for the past two years as Centre’s coordinator of community-based learning through the VISTA AmeriCorps Program. She made an immediate and significant impact helping to institutionalize community-based learning across Centre’s curriculum, most recently with an after-school program for non-native English-speaking students in local schools. The program provides tutoring for 25-30 local school children and has involved more than 60 Centre students over the past two terms. Before that, she spent a year working with the AmeriCorps Program at the Arcadia Community Center in Louisville.
Retiring members of Centre’s faculty and staff were also honored at the dinner: (Flora) Mae Grubs, custodian; Mike Hamm, Ewing T. Boles Professor of History; Dennis Jones, custodian; Judy Naumann, secretary for Division III; Mike Norris, director of communications; and Liz Perkins, Gordon B. Davidson Associate Professor of History.

By |2011-05-19T14:46:23-04:00May 19th, 2011|News Archive|