Faculty and staff honored at annual ceremony

Centre College employees were honored and feted at the 25th annual faculty and staff appreciation dinner and awards ceremony on Tuesday, May 20.
The Kirk Award for excellence in teaching, endowed by a 1995 gift from Mike and Joanne Kirk Duncan ’71, has been awarded annually since 1996. This year’s recipients are Jim Morrison, H.W. Stodghill, Jr. and Adele H. Stodghill Professor of Classics; Kerry Paumi, assistant professor of chemistry; and Beau Weston, John M. and Louise Van Winkle Professor of Sociology.
The Horky Service Award went to Jeanette Bush, grounds supervisor; Dale Savage, custodian; and Dustan Spears, painter. Created from a bequest by Lorette and John Horky ’32, the Horky Award recognizes outstanding achievement by facilities services employees and has been given annually since 1990.
Recipients of the Recognition Award, which honors non-physical plant staff, were Tim Culhan, registrar; Lynne Foley, life science technician; and Matt Simpson, fields supervisor.
Five professors were named Centre Scholars (pictured above): Robert Bosco, assistant professor of international studies; Stacey Peebles, assistant professor of English; Lee Jefferson, assistant professor of religion; Jason Neiser, associate professor of physics; and Jeff Fieberg, associate professor of chemistry (not pictured).
Retiring members of Centre’s faculty and staff were also honored at the dinner: Chris Barton, professor of biology; Bill Crummett, professor of physics; Bob Glass, assistant director of Grace Doherty Library; Don Good, landscaping supervisor; Mike Hamm, professor of history; and Rick Jenkins, custodian.
by Cindy Long

By |2014-05-22T16:03:58-04:00May 22nd, 2014|Academics, News|