College honors faculty and staff during end-of-year ceremony; faculty earn promotions

by Centre College News

Centre College News
Faculty and Staff awards, 2023

Centre College recently honored members of the campus community with faculty and staff recognitions during its annual awards event.

“Thank you for all you do to make Centre College a great place to work and learn,” said President Milton C. Moreland. “It’s through your work that students live and thrive here on campus.”

Horky Award winners from the 2023 faculty and staff awards reception.
Recipients of the Horky Award: Lois Delong, Laura Glasscock and Barbara Kirby.

The College acknowledged facilities management employees for outstanding achievement in the department with the Horky Service Award. The honor was created from a bequest by Lorette and John Horky ’32 and has been given annually since 1990.

This year’s winners were Lois Delong, Laura Glasscock and Barbara Kirby. 

Recognition Award recipients 2023
Recognition award honorees, from left: Dale Wheeler, Crystal Ellis and Lisa Curlis, pictured with President Milton C. Moreland.

Three staff members earned Recognition Awards, which honor those who have gone above and beyond to make outstanding contributions to the College: Lisa Curlis, office manager for the Center for Teaching and Learning; Crystal Ellis, assistant director and head of user and access services at Grace Doherty Library; and Dale Wheeler, public safety officer.

The Presidential Award for Excellence was presented to Bruce Jones, associate director of design, admission and web. Created in 1999, the award honors individuals who have shown exceptional dedication to the College through work and service. While not given annually, the award is instead reserved for occasions when individuals display outstanding commitment and effort to positively transform campus.

Bruce Jones, Presidential Award winner 2023
Presidential Award for Excellence recipient Bruce Jones.

Three professors were presented the Kirk Award, endowed by a 1995 gift from Mike and Joanne Kirk Duncan ’71. The distinction, which has been awarded annually since 1996, recognizes faculty who stand out during annual review sessions by the president, dean and division chairs.

- Division I: Associate Professor of French and Humanities Christian Wood

- Division II: Assistant Professor of History Mauricio Castro

- Division III: Associate Professor of Mathematics Prayat Poudel


Faculty promotions

Lady with blonde shoulder length hair wearing gold earings and multi color navy top
Lesley Wiglesworth

During the spring meeting of the Centre College Board of Trustees, two faculty members were also acknowledge for their promotion to the title of full professor: Lesley Wiglesworth, Stodghill professor of mathematics, and Michael Bradshaw, professor of computer science and data science.

Man with beard wearing glasses and red plaid button up shirt in front of dark background
Michael Bradshaw

Wiglesworth joined Centre’s faculty in 2008 and was named a Centre Scholar in 2012 and again in 2021. Her current research is focused primarily on discrete mathematics, and more specifically, combinatorics and graph theory.

Bradshaw joined Centre as an associate professor in 2014, serving as a visiting assistant professor from 2005-07.  His research interest explores the intersection of gaming and education — in particular, how game elements encourage engagement and can be infused into traditional assignments.