Thirty-five students inducted in Phi Beta Kappa honors society

Spring on Centre College's Campus taken on April 24, 2014.Continuing its legacy of high achievement, Centre College recently initiated 35 students into the Phi Beta Kappa Society (PBK). Centre remains the only private liberal arts college in the Commonwealth with a PBK chapter.
Phi Beta Kappa was founded at the College of William and Mary in 1776 and is the nation’s oldest and most prestigious undergraduate honors society. The organization recognizes students who excel in the liberal arts and sciences and are known for their outstanding character.
PBK now has chapters at 283 colleges and universities, including Centre’s own Beta chapter, founded in 1971.
“Centre’s Phi Beta Kappa chapter honors students for sustained high achievement, good character and general curiosity,” Dr. Beau Weston, chair of the Anthropology/Sociology program, says. “The national Phi Beta Kappa organization honors Centre for helping all students to high academic achievement. They like good character and curiosity, too.”
The initiation ceremony was held on Centre’s campus on May 23. Among those in attendance were President John A. Roush and his wife, Susie.
“You may be assured that this is an honor that will follow you your entire life,” President Roush wrote in a letter to all initiates. “Being Phi Beta Kappa will send an important signal about you and your capacity for good work 20 and 30 years down the trail.”
The students initiated into the Beta of Kentucky chapter of PBK are:
Albert Thomas Anastasio
Emily Michelle Badgley
Tanner Nikolai Ball
Georgia Camille Baylis
Amy Lee Bischoff
Jessica Derrickson Brewer
Jami Nicole Brunner
Matthew Jeremiah Cantrell
Ashley Lauren El Rady
Edwin Dean Faulkner
Monica Elizabeth Fitch
Andrea Nicole Frost
Matthew Taylor Gilbert
Molly Christine Hamilton
Millicent Leigh Horn
Katherine Elizabeth Howard
Jeri Katherine Howell
Jonathan Ryan Hunt
Rachel Alice Kinnison
Claire Margaret Konieczny
Andrew Parker Lawson
Sara Elizabeth Loy
Emily Anne Madden
Luke Chandler Maupin
Courtney Michelle McKernan
Cristin Leigh Palmer
Caitlyn Kent Patton
Logan Trent Pauley
Woody Hampton Rini
Louis Taylor Rodgers
Madeline Elizabeth Rukavina
Kaitlin Marie Szczur
Ashlyn Christine Weber
Hope Evans Wigginton
Avery Nicole Williams
by Hayley Hoffman ‘16
June 8, 2015

By |2015-06-08T09:15:52-04:00June 8th, 2015|Academics, News, Phi Beta Kappa|