Board of Trustees2019-08-16T14:25:24-04:00


Centre College is controlled by a self-perpetuating Board of Trustees, divided into six annual classes of not more than six persons.


The presiding officer of the Board of Trustees is the chair of the Board, elected annually. The president of the College is the executive officer of the Board and the chief executive officer of the College.

Officers of the Board of Trustees

Mark E. Nunnelly: Chair of the Board
James C. Seabury, III: Vice Chair of the Board
Crit Luallen: Secretary of the Board
John A. Roush: President of the College
Yvonne York Morley: Assistant Secretary of the Board


Benjamin J. Beaton
Attorney, Sidley Austin
Washington, DC

William S. Bowmer III
Managing Director, Lincoln International, LLC
Palo Alto, California

Robert L. Elliott
Partner, Houlihan, Elliott, Hinkle Dispute Resolution PLLC
Lexington, Kentucky

G. Watts Humphrey, Jr.
President, GWH Holdings, Inc.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Tao Le
Louisville, Kentucky

Brian Mefford
CEO / Founder, CNX
Bowling Green, Kentucky

Jess Correll
President and Chairman, First Southern Bancorp
Stanford, Kentucky

Craig M. Hille
Managing Director, Juggernaut Capital Partners
Cabin John, Maryland

Lea Stromire Johnson
Attorney, Moore and VanAllen
Charlotte, North Carolina

Daryll W. Martin
President, Percipient Resources
Pittsboro, North Carolina

Thomas H. Meeker
President and CEO, Retired, Churchill Downs Inc.
Louisville, Kentucky

Kevin D. Taylor
Madison, Wisconsin

Thomas R. Baeker
Owner and Founder, Ambrabev, LLC
Danville, Kentucky

Jennie Carlson
Executive Vice President, US Bancorp
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Crit Luallen
Frankfort, Kentucky

John H. Newman
Naples, Florida

James C. Seabury, III
Enterprise Solutions
Nashville, Tennessee

James A. Smith
St. Charles, Illinois

Greg W. Caudill
CEO, Farmers National Bank
Danville, Kentucky

Paul W. Chellgren
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida

Barb Emler
Pediatric Dentist
Lexington, Kentucky

Beth Klein
Officer and Administrator, Klein Family Foundation
Louisville, Kentucky

Jeffrey L. Mackin
Chairman and General Counsel, Interlock Industries, Inc.
Louisville, Kentucky

Eddy Roberts, Jr.
Louisville, Kentucky

John R. Barton
Lexington, Kentucky

Rutheford B. Campbell
Professor of Law, University Of Kentucky
Lexington, Kentucky

Sandra Frazier
CEO, Tandem Public Relations

Mark E. Nunnelly
Director of the State of Massachusetts IT
Boston, Massachusetts

Peggy Purdom Patterson
U.S. Magistrate Judge, Retired, U.S. District Court
Eastern District Of Kentucky
Prospect, Kentucky

George W. Privett, Jr.
Lexington, Kentucky

Anita M. Britton
Britton Johnson, PLLC
Versailles, Kentucky

Sheila A. Burks
Corporate Counsel, OFS Fitel, LLC
Norcross, Georgia

Angie M. Evans
Vice President
Corporate Responsibility and Community Affairs, LG&E and KU Energy LLC
Louisville, Kentucky

Kenneth J. Mardick
President, M3 Resources USA
Birmingham, Alabama

Richard T. Riney
General Counsel at Ventas, Inc.
Louisville, Kentucky

Lee Tatum
Managing Director
Kentucky Owl Bourbon
Louisville, KY

Robert T. Brockman
The Reynolds and Reynolds Co.
Houston, Texas

J. David Grissom
Chairman, Mayfair Capital
Louisville, Kentucky

Randal B. Kell
The Mark Winkler Company
Alexandria, Virginia

Nelson D. Rodes, Jr..
Chairman of the Board, Retired, Farmers National Bank of Danville
Danville, Kentucky

Joanne K. Duncan
Inez, Kentucky

Richard L. Frymire
Madisonville, Kentucky

Elizabeth T. Kennan
Danville, Kentucky

John W. Landrum
Harrodsburg, Kentucky

Charles J. Luellen
Austin, Texas

Joseph H. Patterson
Charlotte, North Carolina

Lillian H. Press
Lexington, Kentucky

James M. Ratcliffe
Louisville, Kentucky

James L. Rogers III
Vero Beach, Florida

James D. Rouse
Versailles, Kentucky

Jane L. Stevenson
Owensboro, Kentucky

Margaret A. Stroup
Melbourne, Florida